Twins party

The twin’s had their birthday party last Saturday.  It was a week after their birthday but because of softball, it was the only day we could have it.  We reserved a picnic area at the local park and the twin’s invited about 20 of their friends.  I expected her to be drunk for the party, in fact, I planned on it.

The night before I found a 750ml bottle of vodka in her purse.  I got home from work early and her purse was sitting on the washing machine with the bottle in it.  I just happened to glance and see it.  She was already pretty drunk, so I figured the bottle was for tomorrow’s party.  I left it in her purse, I didn’t pour it out.

On Saturday, I did all the shopping.  She never left the house.  I picked up the cake, bought all the food, and packed up the car.  All she had to do was show up.  During the week she had been out shopping for activities for the girls to do.  She bought a bunch of stuff nobody would use.

We left at the same time, but took separate cars to the park.  I was surprised that she was sober all afternoon, and there were no signs of drinking right before we left.  I guess she drank her entire bottle the day before and didn’t get anything before the party.

Some of the kids were fishing in the small pond at the park.  They lost a hook so she came to me and said she was going home to get more hooks.  I told her no, there is no reason to leave and get more of anything, there are plenty of things to keep the kids entertained.  We both knew she was going to get alcohol.

She got upset and left the party and went to a different area of the park away from everyone.  There I was, all by myself.   My oldest was there to help, but she invited a few friends so she was busy.  I just sat by the barbecue and hoped everything worked out ok.

She stayed on the other side of the park for about an hour, until it was time to eat.  She came back and she was still in a bad mood but she realized she was out of excuses to make an alcohol run, and I wasn’t going to give her the keys.  She finally cheered up after we ate dinner and had the cake.

The party was a hit.  All the kids had a lot of fun.

About gotfleas

Regular middle age family man.
This entry was posted in Alanon, Alcoholism, Co-Dependent, Found-a-bottle, Living with an addict, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment