More Halibut

She wanted halibut for dinner.  It’s been a while since we’ve had it.  How could I forget.

The kids were all busy doing something else so it was just the two of us.  She said she would go to the store and get it and everything else we needed for dinner.  I agreed.  She also told me that she promised it would be a nice night and she was looking forward to it.

I got home from work around 6 and she was drunk.  So much for the nice night.  One of the twins was all excited because she was accepted into the leadership program at high school.  They were going out to dinner with a friend and the oldest was already at a friends.

At 7:00 we started cooking dinner.  She was standing by the stove with a box of noodles so drunk that she couldn’t figure out how to cook them.  I took the box and told her I would cook.  She left and went into the back.

I cooked bbq halibut, noodles and broccoli.  It all turned out very good.  I called her for dinner and when she showed up she was really drunk.

She wanted to eat outside and I agreed.  We started eating dinner and she mentioned that she talked to a neighbor about his son going to college out-of-state and how expensive it is.  Of course she was so drunk she could hardly talk but I got that much out of her.

She thought that we should make a rule for the kids that they have to go to school in state.  She just kept saying that over and over throughout the entire dinner.  She must have said it 5 times.

I didn’t get mad or frustrated.  I just sat and agreed with everything she said.  I knew she wouldn’t remember anything about the conversation so I just let it go.

I cleared the table and did the dishes.  She was still sitting outside when I was done.  About 15 minutes later, she got up and made it to the back bedroom and passed out.

About gotfleas

Regular middle age family man.
This entry was posted in Alcoholism, Cooking, dinner, Drunk, Passed out. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Halibut

  1. So what’s the end game here? Has this been going on since 2011?

  2. fern says:

    I don’t “like” the situation but I like that you share your story. (((Hugs)))

Leave a comment