Dinners Ready

The kids and I were sitting at the table talking about what we were going to have for dinner.  Their mother was in the back bedroom passed out so I figured we’d go out to eat.  Out of nowhere, she walks into the room.  I asked her if she was planning on eating dinner and she said yes and that she planned meatloaf and mashed potatoes.  I looked at the kids and told them I was sorry but we’re not going out.  We’re going to have meatloaf.

I realized she was way too drunk to cook so I took over.  I mixed everything in a bowl  and put it in the pan.  She started making the instant mashed potatoes but I told her to wait until the meatloaf is done.  I started loading the dishwasher.  Our dishwasher is broken because she fell into the top rack and broke it when she was drunk.  Until the new parts come in, we only have the lower rack.

While I was working on the dishes, she put the meatloaf in the oven.  I set the timer for 1hr then went into the other room.

After 45 minutes she interrupted me and told me the meatloaf was in the wrong oven.  She started the lower oven but put the meatloaf in the upper oven to cook.  I looked and sure enough, the meatloaf was still raw.  I reset the timer and told the kids we weren’t going to eat until 7:45.

I went in the other room and she went into the back bedroom (probably to drink more) and the kids were all over doing homework.  Just after 7:00 she told everyone to come to dinner.  The meatloaf had been cooking 20 minutes since she discovered it was in the wrong oven but she figured it was done so she had it on the counter.  She had cooked the potatoes and told everyone to get a piece.

I told her the meatloaf wasn’t ready but she kept insisting it was done.  I got a meat thermometer and checked the temperature.  It was 90 degrees.  I told her it had to get to 160 before it was done and put it back in the oven.

She was very drunk so I’m not even sure if she remembers what happened.  She went into the back bedroom and passed out for the night.  The kids and I had our meatloaf and it was pretty good.

About gotfleas

Regular middle age family man.
This entry was posted in Alcoholism, Cooking, dinner, Drunk, Living with an addict, Memory loss, Passed out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment